Resolutions – Book Tag

I’ve been tagged by the wonderful Mikaela Reads to do her very clever Resolution’s Book Tag. A tag inspired by New Years Resolutions, but bookish! This was much more difficult than I thought it would be but here goes:

1. Exercise More – name a book that has made you want to leap up out of your seat (for any reason).

The Narrow Bed by Sophie Hannah and not for a good reason unfortunately. It was one of the worst twist I’ve ever read in a book. If you’ve read it, you’ll know what I mean, if not then you’re going to have to read it to find out (apologies in advance!).

2. Get Organised – a book with an exceptional plot

I can’t really pick anything other than How to Dissapear by Gillian McAllister. It was a book that really knocked my socks off! A story that was original and written exceptionally from the beginning but also had a killer twist/ending which I didn’t see coming at all!

3. Learn A New Skill – a book which taught you something

I have a beautiful copy of The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin and although it didn’t necessarily teach me anything new in terms of the theory of evolution there was plenty of science within that I did not already know. Incredibly interesting but also a challenging read.

4. Live Life To The Fullest – a book which inspired you

A Life on Our Planet by David Attenborough. A book which didn’t bring me anything new, it didn’t open my eyes to something I wasn’t aware of BUT It did re-enforce a message which wasn’t at the forefront and one which I do care about tremendously. David is an exceptional man with an exceptional career and this was an incredible read.

5. Save more money / spend less money – the most expensive book you’ve bought and was it worth it?

The most expensive book I’ve bought is a tricky one as most of my books are from charity shops. So, I think they most expensive book that I have paid for myself is The Midnight Library by Matt Haig. I bought this for myself around September 2020 and haven’t read it yet, BUT I then did go on to by my bestie the same book for Christmas and it is very soon to be our first buddy read of the year.

6. Spend More Time With Family and Friends – a character you would want to be best mates with

Wow, this was incredibly hard to choose. I have settled on Tilly from M W Craven’s series. Descirbed by M W Craven as “Civilian analyst Tilly Bradshaw. Brilliant, adorably awkward, a social hand grenade; she lives at home with her parents and isn’t allowed out on her own. She has three PhDs but doesn’t know how to boil an egg. Meeting Poe will be her first step into the non-academic world. The world might not yet be ready for her…” I fell in love with Tilly in Craven’s first book ‘The Puppet Show’ and continued in his second book “Black Summer”, I’m sure I’ll continue to love her in “The Curator” which I am going to purchase and read very soon!

7. Travel More – a book with a location you’d love to visit

For this one i’ve chosen a book I don’t currently own but want to own… The Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman. A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home-perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.

8. Read More – a book you are desperate to read this year

Gosh, now this one was almost impossible as I have literally hundreds of books I am desperate to read. I have settled on Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari. I own it and have done for years and it is about time I finally read it. Sapiens, the book, takes us on a breath-taking ride through our entire human history, from its evolutionary roots to the age of capitalism and genetic engineering, to uncover why we are the way we are.

I hope you enjoyed this, I certainly did. Do let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them!!

I’m tagging as below, I can’t wait to see what books you pick!!!

Lisa @GirlNovelLiving,

Kath @KathVBooks,

Kate @TheQuickandtheRead,

Dee @DeesBookBlog

Lucy @BookwormBlogger

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s